Relevant legislation

The Fines Enforcement and Recovery Unit (the Fines Unit) provides a service to Authorities across the state in the recovery of overdue debts. The Act allows Authorities to refer overdue debts to the Fines Unit for recovery and 'enforcement'.

The Fines Unit is part of the Attorney-General's Department and falls within the justice portfolio.

The Fines Unit operates under the Fines Enforcement and Debt Recovery Act 2017 which commenced 30 April 2018.

The Act provides for the recovery of expiation fees, fines and other pecuniary sums; allows for the recovery of civil debt owed to public authorities; sets out the functions and powers of the Chief Recovery Officer; and provides amendments to the Criminal Law (Sentencing) Act 1988, Cross-border Justice Act 2009, the Expiation of Offences Act 1996, the Magistrates Court Act 1991, the Motor Vehicles Act 1959, the Summary Procedure Act 1921 and the Victims of Crime Act 2001.

All Acts can be accessed on the website.

The Fines Enforcement and Debt Recovery Act 2017 can be found here:

The Freedom of Information Act 1991 provides members of the public with access to South Australian government documents, making the Fines Unit and other government agencies more accountable. Find out more about making a Freedom of Information ('FOI') request.